1013 October, Going Out, Low Carb, Stuff I Made

5th October: Some old guy’s house invitation

Woke up at 8, wasted time until 1???!!!??? Sigh why do I keep doing this?

Also, I took the personality test and I went from ESFP to ENFP.

Ate roasted cauliflower and leek soup in the morning:
– 3/4 cup cauliflower
– 1/4 leek
– 100ml chicken stock
Taken from: http://mymansbelly.com/2010/01/05/roasted-cauliflower-and-leek-soup
It tasted pretty hearty but let me tell you, if you burn something, throw it away and don’t blend it into soup because it will taste burnt.

20131005-125535.jpg

20131005-125541.jpg

78 green tea seeds as a snack (wtf am I doing)
Mango seed

20131005-142628.jpg

I made lunch for dad, mum and myself..

20131005-132526.jpg

I ate my own pan seared salmon!
~
Oyster Donburi:

20131005-132544.jpg
– 10 oysters
– 100ml chicken stock
– 1t. light soy sauce
– 1t. mirin
– 1/4 onion, thinly sliced
– 1 egg + 2 egg yolks, lightly beaten
– 1 serving cooked Japanese short-grain rice
– dashes of Japanese furikake
– 1/2T chopped spring onions

1) Oysters: Thaw, soak in salted water, rinse in clean water. Blanch in boiling water for 10 seconds (I used boiled water lol). Drain and set aside.
2) Add chicken stock + soy sauce + mirin to saucepan.
3) Reduce heat when mixture starts to boil.
4) Add onions + oysters to pan, simmer then flip oysters to the other side.
5) Pour beaten egg evenly. When the egg is half-cooked, turn off the heat, put on the lid and let the egg continue cooking in the heat until it reaches the desired consistency (almost cooked with moist & silky appearance).
6) Serve: Ladle cooked Japanese rice to serving bowl and top with seaweed or furikake. Scoop the egg mixture over the rice and sprinkle with spring onions.

Adapted from: http://www.noobcook.com/oyster-donburi/2/
~
Lohikeitto Take 3:

20131005-141855.jpg
– 1/2t. Butter (34kcal)
– 1/4 onion, finely chopped (11kcal)
– 3/4 potato, cubed (130kcal)
– 1.5 cups chicken stock (or less) (20kcal)
– 100g salmon, cubed (200kcal)
– 40ml cream (140kcal)
– 1/2 cup cauliflower, microwaved and blended (can be increased) (25kcal)
– dill
Total: 544kcal

1) Sauté onion in butter until soft.
2) Add chicken stock.
3) Add potato.
4) Simmer with a lid until potatoes are tender.
5) Add salmon until cooked.
6) Add cream and blended cauliflower.
7) Add salt and pepper to taste.

Verdict: I like this. It tastes more authentic IMO, and so does mom.

Adapted from: http://iatebrisbane.com/2010/06/lohikeitto–finnish-salmon-cream-and-potato-soup/
~
Pan-Seared Salmon
It was really yummy okay! I read up on a bunch of tips so here they are.
1) Scrape the skin
2) Pat skin dry with a paper towel
3) Salt skin
4) Pat dry again
5) Heat the pan to really hot before putting in oil
6) Fry fish, skin-side down
7) Leave it on the skin side for about 3/4 of the cooking
8) Don’t move it around or keep flipping it, the skin won’t stick when it’s done
9) Fry it lightly on the other side (about 20 seconds?)

20131005-142517.jpg

20131005-142523.jpg
Pity mom won’t eat it because she said it looked undercooked :< it was so tender and flaky and yummy! AND the skin was superbly crispy!
——
That Guy’s House:
DAMN he is rich. Anyway, today’s night was really lovely, we left at 7.30pm and reached home at 12.15am.. Didn’t manage to study but it made me so relaxed and happy and pretty optimistic for the work I will do.

Tonight was a pretty great night. Starting with the food from Penang’s Place Catering: ($30 for min $30 people each.. Quite a rip off IMO)

20131006-005552.jpg

20131006-005558.jpg
I was so stuffed haha. The chicken satay was really good, the beef rendang was incredibly tough and just no. I tried to warn second bro against it but to no avail..

I think I’m super sensitive to carbs and refined sugar/starch now.. I’m guessing the vegetable had a lot more cornstarch in the gloopy sauce than I’d like it to have. So even though I didn’t eat the laksa or rice or char kway teow or dessert my stomach is nearly-churning in the I kind of want to puke a bit sense but not because I’m stuffed. It feels very uncomfortable, basically.

Mum also noted, yesterday, about how much nicer I am when I have enough sleep (I agree) and then said that she thinks me not eating sugar could be giving me more energy! 😀 Because I talk all the way with her in the car haha.

– bro
– oldies and reflection
– enjoyed my playing
– improv
My OOTD, and I really suck at dresses I barely wear them lol

20131006-010758.jpg

Standard

Leave a Reply

