1213 December, Going Out, Low Carb, Stuff I Made

14th December: Food Aversions, Turkey Salad + Curried Cauliflower + Cauliflower soup

1.20am, 14/12: I’d realised that this year, I started changing, like so much. 180°. Completely, idek. One of those aspects would include food. I used to hate cooking — how do you even learn to cook?! Couldn’t imagine knowing what kind of spices and tastes to use, nope that’s way out of my comfort zone. I’ll stick to baking. I used to think I wasn’t picky with food — give me anything that’s not vegetable, I’d probably eat it? (and mushroom. and corn. and carrots. and peas. and tomatoes. and..etc) Haaahaha nope. Here’s a list of the things I’d learnt to eat over the past year.
Mushrooms
Dislike: Basically hated it and gave away my mushroom melt sandwich because /mushroom/.
Like: 1st instance was when mom brought home a huge box of portobello mushrooms from Fassler and it was sautéed for dinner, I forced myself to start liking it.
Lady’s Finger
Dislike: I just always thought it was weird. The name didn’t help either.
Like: I think mom sautéed it and I tried it or perhaps it was in some curry.
Tomatoes
Dislike: Took it out of every burger I had, refused to touch them in soups.
Like: When I got the mixed rice from the Chinese Stall, there were tomatoes with the eggs. The eggs tasted good, so I tried the tomatoes too.
Eggplant/Aubergine/Brinjal/QieZi/Melanzane
Dislike: I don’t think I ever noticed then, really. But now, after I did, boy did I notice them EVERYWHERE.
Like: Chinese Stall. Thought it looked peculiar, asked to try one of em. So glad I did, it was amazing ahh. (And I am so glad eggplant doesn’t stall me I’d be devastated if it did)
Carrots
Dislike: They were just one of the long-standing can’t-eat-em-in-fried-rice thing. Never liked that sweet but not really sweet odd taste, still don’t fancy them raw.
Like: Japanese curry, oxtail stew etc.
Corn
Dislike: Same goes with the fried rice, I still won’t voluntarily eat it.
Like: Not exactly a like (and it’s a grain ugh) but it was quite nice in the Soup Kitchen’s Pan Pacific Hotel food.
Onion
Spring Onion
Beansprouts
Pig Intestines
Turnip
Pumpkin
Tofu
Chilli
Cottage Cheese
Avocado
Beans
Tuna Sashimi
Black Coffee
Shrimp
16/12: Mussels
Squid
Scallops
19/12: Tripe, Beef tongue
21/12: Rabbit, Langoustine, Artichoke
Peppers
Fish maw
– @ Auntie Janet’s house. I Iike squishy things.

What I still don’t like
• Pickles
• Peas
• Olives
• Kimchi
• Liver

1 chicken wing + a bit of otah (est 3g)
Bunch of turkey + turkey salad
1 bowl cauliflower soup (5g)
Downtown East economic mixed vegetable rice: 10 pieces eggplant + xiao bai cai + cabbage ($2.40)
White Sands: 8 pieces oily eggplant + 2 pieces mushroom ($3.50)
2/3 serving curried cauliflower
Total: 9g + 2 dinners (WTFF??)
Ate chicken and a bit of otah, as well as a heck ton of turkey and made some cauliflower soup.

20131214-195543.jpg
~
Cauliflower Soup:
– 1/2 onion (3g)
– 1 clove garlic (1g)
– 2 cups cauliflower (6g)
– 1 cup chicken stock
– 1/4 cup almond milk
– pepper + Italian herbs + salt
Total: 10g
Taken from: http://localfoods.about.com/od/winter/r/CauliflowerSoup.htm

20131214-195719.jpg

5.50pm:
Drowned my sadness in 2.5 dinners, I’ve started to find Economic Stalls very fascinating. $2.40 and $3.50.

20131214-195343.jpg

20131214-195346.jpg

Where has God gone?
And why did he go?
I’ve prayed and I’ve asked
But I still don’t know.

When I was a youth
God was right here
I faced life AND death
Without any fear.

Then He left
And I don’t know why
Now I’m afraid of life
And I’m afraid to die.

I’ve looked in my head,
My heart and my soul,
But all I have found,
Is a dark empty hole.

I send up my prayers
On the wings of a bird
But he must lose his way
As my prayers are unheard.

Is it because
I don’t get on my knees;
I don’t bow my head
When I send up my pleas?

I pray and I beg
And I cry and I shout;
Give me back my faith.
Take away my doubt.

Those prayers go unanswered
And I am bereft.
I’m looking for God,
But God has left.

Maybe I should’ve gone for Youth Camp 2013. But it would’ve been for all the wrong reasons, but who knows, it may have been the push in the direction I need for my Christian life, a common experience to bond me back to the people I once knew.
~
Curried Cauliflower (Take 2):
– 2 cups cauliflower (50kcal, 6g)
– Cooking spray
– Garlic Salt
– 3T coconut milk (45ml, 60kcal, 2.7g)
– 3/8 cup almond milk (14kcal, 0.75g)
– 1/2 cup water
– 1/4 cup Leek (1.5g I think)
– 2T curry powder (48kcal, 4g)
– 1.5 cloves garlic (1.5g)
Total: 172kcal, 16.5g (can be 175kcal)

20131214-195124.jpg

20131214-195121.jpg
~
Turkey Salad:

20131215-152741.jpg

20131215-152744.jpg

20131215-152746.jpg
~
uncle & auntie Wong, 8-9.30

Standard

Leave a Reply

